I am a new day rising

I Am A New Day Rising by Mara Berendt Friedman

I Am A New Day Rising by Mara Berendt Friedman

What an abundantly delicious winter solstice celebration I was part of last Thursday evening with my Chakra group. Our friend Kate always hosts our December gathering – her home is so cozy and festive for the holidays; the perfect sanctuary for us to reflect on all the ways we’ve grown over the past year, to look ahead to the infinite possibilities and open to our most heart-felt dreams, and, most importantly, to pause and BE in the moment, relishing our friendship and our blessings.

The above card is from our friend Ginny. Isn’t it beautiful? The colors, the imagery…I see deeper meaning each time I look at it. I feel ‘hugged’ when I look at it. I recognize the feeling – it’s the same as the one I get when I look at Teach Me To Fly, another beautiful work by Mara. A fitting accompaniment to a special evening of delights.

The back of the card also has a lovely little poem:

The Sun Never Says*

Even
After
All this time
The sun never says to the earth,

“You owe
Me.”

Look
What happens
With a love like that,
It lights the
Whole
sky.

*From penguin publication The Gift, Poems b Hafiz. Copyright 1999 Daniel Landinsky

8 thoughts on “I am a new day rising

    • WOW! “You owe me!” How often have I said that, even in jest? Talk about loving and letting go. Marvelous, powerful poem. And can I just say how jealous I am that you have your Chakra ladies? Note to self: In 2015, TRY to build a support network of friends who love without judging and move each other toward the light. Thank you…

      • Of course, you mean a BIGGER network of such friends…:) I’ve been part of the Chakra group since 2007 and it is such a source of light, strength, love, encouragement and support. It’s like having a team of personal coaches guiding you – as you say – toward the light! I’m holding an intention that you find just what you are looking for in the new year, my friend. Claiming it out loud is the first step.

    • Yes, Sunita, agree with that! In fact, that’s the essence of our intimate little group of 5 friends…a monthly opportunity to slow down amidst the busy-ness that is sometimes life and just BE. Wishing you a lovely holiday – may you relish every moment!

  1. Pingback: Angel lights create abundant deliciousness | This Abundantly Delicious Life

  2. Pingback: Grasses that soften the world | This Abundantly Delicious Life

Leave a Reply

