Fire and lightning

courtesy of sodahead.com

courtesy of sodahead.com

bugs, that is! Last night Jim and I enjoyed our deck until after the sun went down, and received the gift of seeing fireflies flitting about the back yard (maybe you call them lightening bugs?). I’m not sure why those little critters glowing in the dark delight me so. Are there happy childhood memories of chasing them around the yard with my brother and friends that is imprinted in my soul, that comes up singing at the sight of the glowing light?

Lori McKenna, on of my favorite singer-songwriters, has a delicious song title Fireflies that gives me that same joyful childlike feeling, and I always find myself singing out loud! You can enjoy it from this link that has the playful lyrics:

http://www.songlyrics.com/lori-mckenna/fireflies-lyrics/

Here’s to summer and all the happiness we create in this wonderful warm, sunshiny season!

 

Leave a Reply

