Opening the geography of one’s soul

Kotor

How does the Universe know what I need?

Despite having a 3-day weekend to recharge my batteries, the past couple of days I’ve felt worn out, uninspired, with moments of just plain ‘blah’. These darker times sneak up on me. Not sure where they come from…the string of gray, cold winter days? the finally- slowing-down after sprinting a couple of work marathons? the pent up energy of not getting in a few weekly runs?

This morning when I picked up The Book of Awakening: Having the Life You Want by Being Present to the Life You Have by Mark Nepo, I thought ‘no coincidences’ (those of you who know me aren’t surprised by that phraseology). He delivered just the message I needed in his When Feeling Stuck entry for today:

The same stream of life that runs through the world runs through my veins.               – Rabindranath Tagore

“We are so achievement-oriented…” – oh, yes, definite yes

“…that we often surge right by the true value of relating to what’s before us,…” – I’m thinking it’s time to slow down…

“…because we think that accomplishing things will complete us,…” – goodness, how long my to-do checklist for today is!

“…when it is experiencing life that will.” – maybe what’s happening to me today is that I’ve gotten off the treadmill and am finally just feeling life again?

“…The nineteenth-century poet Gerard Manley Hopkins called this inner terrain ‘inscape’. And just as no landscape can flourish without sun and water, our inscape must be irrigated and drenched with many forms of life if we are to thrive.” – I like that ‘inscape’…what’s the weather like in there, what does the land look like, how is the environment engaging in the dance of life?

“…For life is not a matter of taste, but of awakening, not a matter of finding things pleasing or disturbing, but of finding things completing, not a matter of liking or disliking, but of opening the geography of one’s soul.” – This is medicine! Awakening, completing, opening

Thank you, Mark Nepo. You are a light!

 

4 thoughts on “Opening the geography of one’s soul

  1. Hmm.. I’ve been feeling the same way since I got back from Canada… wondering what’s behind my blah as well. Did I read my Mark Nepo book yet today? NO I DID NOT! I am too busy focused on work. Let me go do that right now, thanks for the prod!

    • Maybe seasonal. Blue sky here and forecast for 60F (it’s still FEB in IOWA!) so that could help. 🙂 Now I know part of what was going on: I am sick – perhaps I could do a better job of listening to my body….Hope your MN time was helpful!

      • Aha… I too think I’m battling something. So perhaps that is it, though warmer weather would INDEED make a difference! My MN time was good – thank you again. Hang in there, take good care of you, and I will do the same. Onward!

Leave a Reply

