Our Next Step

whitehydrangea

“The door way to our next step of growth is always behind the urgency of now. When feeling like I can’t sit still, I need, more than ever, to sit still. When feeling like I will die if I don’t have your approval, I need, more than ever, to die to my need for your approval. What we need is always harshly and beautifully right before us, disguised in the wrapping of our nearest urgency.” ~Mark Nepo

I’m grateful for all of the amazing people in my life who invite me to be present with them in the now…for those who, just for a moment, pause and tune in to the opportunity of the moment. I find such grace and possibility there.

* I took this photo on the Isle of Capri at Vila San Michele

6 thoughts on “Our Next Step

  1. Vicki, Thanks for the reminder: “When feeling like I can’t sit still, I need, more than ever, to sit still.” You should have seen me this morning… OK, sitting still now 😉

  2. Vicki, this might sound a bit wacky but recently I’ve challenged myself to go on roller coaster rides with the kids, precisely to experience the moment of now. I don’t like going fast and dropping fast, yet I know when I’m on that ride I get an upfront and close experience with the moment of now like nothing else can do it! Last week I went on one ride that went almost 200 mph and dropped 400 feet in 4 seconds! It’s my opportunity to watch all the scary thoughts flow into my mind while I’m in the horrendously long line up, and a point of choice to disbelieve them all one by one, and enjoy the moment as it comes. So far … my heart has not stopped and I’ve made it through with a new limit each time ! It’s incredible what your mind churns up when you’re frightened … it’s like a kid on too much sugar running around without direction. It’s fun to meet the “calm within” and allow that calm to flow out and “relax yourself”. 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing that, Sunita! How awesome that you are leaning into your courage taking the roller coaster ride! Unsure the last time I did that! It’s so true that our mind churns up such incredible things when we come from a place of fear. I love how when you pause, notice it, and accept it without judgment, it creates space for new possibility. Vicki

Leave a Reply

