Grandpa Garber

Me and Grandpa in the flower fields of Lompoc, CA

Me and Grandpa in the flower fields of Lompoc, CA

I’ve been thinking about my Grandpa Garber recently (See Seeker of Love and Revealer of Truth and Mom & The Misadventures of Marjory). He believed in fun and always brought about smiles and laughter, telling jokes and short-sheeting beds. He encouraged our talents – my writing and Mike’s artwork and good grades got $2 bills. He believed in special things – like big red convertibles, big pots of edible flowers, a smorgasbord for dinner. I remember searching for quarters in his house as he and my mom did their research and getting to pick a special gift at the big toy store in Stockton.  When we moved away, I remember the delight of getting a card in the mail from him, always hand-typed and full of delightful ideas. Thank you, Grandpa, for the love, light and laughter your brought into my life – it lives on.

Grandpa playing with Mike & me

Grandpa playing with Mike & me

Grandpa ensuring we smile for the camera

Grandpa ensuring we smile for the camera

Leave a Reply

