Learning and stretching

IGLThis week’s nibble of abundant deliciousness was the opportunity to learn and stretch. I spent most of last week in New York at a management development class. Good stuff…very little lecturing and and information overload…lots of practicing using tried and true tools. I left clearer about how I can guide my team in inspiring great leaders. 

My husband was also in some leadership training last week. My learning and stretching continued last night as I reviewed the handouts he brought home. A few ideas got me thinking about how I am interpreting and how I might engage differently with some situations at work: 

  • What looks like resistance is often lack of direction 
  • What looks like a people problem is often a situation problem
  • What looks like laziness is often exhaustion

“What’s really going on?”, I found myself asking…and I opened to new possibilities. 

4 thoughts on “Learning and stretching

  1. Love the insights, and love also that you both share, and love also that you are exactly what our company needs. We need you to help build a better workplace. Can’t wait to hear more about it. Enjoy your LABOR_FREE day, my friend.

  2. I like the re – interpretation of lazy to lack of direction. I can relate to that on some days. I’m not sure of the context you have it in, but I can sense how that is sometimes the case for me at work and in my personal endeavors. Thanks Vicki…hope you are enjoying a direction free long weekend! -b

    • Bonnie, great of you to stop by and share. I loved how reading these possibilities helped me see things so very differently. Makes me realize that I am always filtering life and what’s going on with others through MY lens and it’s important to check in on what’s going on from THEIR lens. Wishing you a great holiday, Bonnie!

Leave a Reply

