Happy Father’s Day

HappyFathersDaycollage

Today I pause in appreciation for my father. His guidance, strength and love have made so many things possible in my life and continue guide me in all that I do. I carry your wisdom with me, always, Dad. I love you.

I dedicate this poem by Karen K. Boyer to you.

Dad

He never looks for praises
He’s never one to boast
He just goes on quietly working
For those he loves the most
His dreams are seldom spoken
His wants are very few
And most of the time his worries
Will go unspoken too
He’s there…. A firm foundation
Through all our storms of life
A sturdy hand to hold to
In times of stress and strife
A true friend we can turn to
When times are good or bad
One of our greatest blessings,
The man that we call Dad.

© Karen K. Boyer

 

6 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day

  1. This is wonderful. Though I lost my Dad when I was 30 and he was just 55, he remains with me in spirit. I love the pictures of your Dad giving you some golf tips. I didn’t pick up the game of golf until my Dad was already gone from my life. He was an avid and pretty good golfer. About 5-7 years ago I parred a hole that I had never parred before on the golf course we play most and realized it was my Dad’s birthday. I looked up after putting and voiced: “Dad, this one was for you. Happy Birthday, I feel you here in spirit.”

  2. Thanks, David, Lorian, and Yvonne – I can’t wait to see my Dad who will be coming to visit early next month! Something very special about him…so many special things about him. Thanks for your comments which have invited me back here to touch my Dad’s love…

Leave a Reply

