7 little quotes with big encouragement

 212

I’ve been consumed by work, focused on trying to capture my strategy in terms that different audiences might understand. Many times I’ve thought I must be speaking in a foreign language – and, in some ways, I am I guess.

I get an idea, and I sprint to capture it. Sometimes there are hurdles, and I seize my energy and catapult over them. Sometimes I find myself running a marathon. It’s all quite exhilarating – and, of course, challenging. With it, I see I’m stretching and growing – becoming a stronger runner.

Sometimes I run out of steam. Today I felt like I hit the wall. I’d been running a long time, thinking I was near the finish line. Seems, though, I mistook the half marathon finish as the end – reality is that there’s likely another half marathon to go before I can claim victory.

On a whim tonight as I was leaving my office, I pulled 212 degrees: the extra degree off my book shelf. I found myself encouraged. I think I’ll slow down my pace, but, I WILL keep going!  Here are 7 little quotes with big encouragement from the book.

  1. Inches make the champion. ~Vince Lombardi
  2. Many of life’s failures are men who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. ~Thomas Edison
  3. Triumph often is nearest when defeat seems inescapable. ~B.C. Forbes
  4. Never stop. One always stops as soon as something is about to happen. ~Peter Brook
  5. You give 100% in the first half of the game, and if that isn’t enough, in the second, you give what’s left. ~Yogi Berra
  6. You may have to fight a battle more than once to win it. ~Margaret Thatcher
  7. and let us not be weary in well doing; for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. ~Galations 6:9
7 thoughts on “7 little quotes with big encouragement

  1. Way to go! Love the quotes, love the reason for looking at them, and encourage you to “faint not!” And of course, no “philosophical moment” is complete without a quote from Yogi Berra. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

