The obstacles in the path

medfrommat

I’m on my fourth reading through of this amazing book, Meditations from the Mat: Daily Reflections on the Path of Yoga by Rolf Gates and Katrina Kenison. It was a gift back in November 2005 from my dear friend Celeste. I devoured it immediately, then came back to it in 2007 (was reading today’s post almost to the day in 2007), and in 2011, and here I am again.

The post for Day 21 starts with a quote:

I learn by going where I have to go.  ~Theodore Roethke

I love the quote and these lines:

The truth is, we are all so very,  very vulnerable. Life is as it is…The only thing we have control over is our attitude. We have the choice of life or death, love or fear, in each moment. And we bear the responsibility for that choice in each moment.

Vulnerability, openness, choice, now.

The authors go on to say something that I took to heart back in 2007 when I was really stuck in my career. This one idea got me unstuck and has a thousand times since then (and, apparently, my sharing it is helping others – check out my friend Maureen’s Project Butterfly post from Sunday: http://maureenmonte.com/snow-butterfly/) .

The obstacles in our path ARE the path.

Every time we stretch beyond our resistance and our fear, we make a choice for life. And every time we choose life, we find that fear loses its grip on us. We all know more than we think we do, and we are stronger than we believe ourselves to be.

Inspired. Feeling more confident, stronger. Letting go and opening to ‘what is.’

Thanks Rolf and Katrina.

One thought on “The obstacles in the path

  1. BAH! I hate that these things keep showing up and I still find ways to ignore them. Thank you, Vicki for reminding me AGAIN (see how much I forgot since Sunday?) I appreciate your gentle pull to get me back on the darn path. “Hey, Maureen! The path is over here! You’ll feel a lot better if you join us…” Hard to break old patterns. I love the part about life being so very vulnerable…. loving it and doing it… ying and yang, hot and cold, black and white. There is no line between them, really. When does the temp change from cold to hot? If I could just remember…

Leave a Reply

