Just listening

The day starts yet again from an inspired place.

“I suspect that the most basic and powerful way to connect to another person is to listen. Just listen. Perhaps the most important thing we ever give each other is our attention. And especially if it’s given from the heart. When people are talking, there’s no need to do anything but receive them. Just take them in. Listen to what they are saying. Care about it. Most times caring about it is even more important that understanding it.”  Rachel Naomi Remem

I become curious about the opportunities to listen and receive as I move into a new week…into this beautiful fall day…into this sense of possibility that sits quietly inside of me ready to be awakened.

4 thoughts on “Just listening

  1. I just realized how true this is – shared with some folks that I had re-injured my back. They understand it, but no one seems to care (it doesn’t help that I’m in the throes of pain so I’m really irritable). Caring does mean more than understanding… Thanks Vicki –

    • Oh, QM, I am so sorry to hear your back is out again. And the caring requires that we slow down to really BE with each other, see what’s in the other person’s eyes or hear what’s in their voice, really tune in to the words they use…You know I care…sending you intentions for relief and healing, my friend.

Leave a Reply

