We can remember our wholeness at any time

courtesy of kairoscares.org

courtesy of kairoscares.org

Thanks again to Rachel Naomi Remen for brilliant perspective this morning during my quiet reflection time. In her opening remarks to the chapter on Judgement (I’m reading Kitchen Table Wisdom), she speaks of ways that we deny our wholeness through judgment, approval-seeking, closing ourselves off. She writes about the duality of being, how we have both sides of everything, and invites us to experience the full range of response to life. My hope right now is that I may continue to move in the direction of wholeness – that I may let go of my self-judgement, my need for approval and embrace my life-force, feeling, and being who I am.

Here are some delicious quotes that inspired me:

  • Our own self-judgment or the judgment of other people can stifle our life force, its spontaneity and natural expression.
  • To seek approval is to have no resting place, no sanctuary. Like all judgment, approval encourages a constant striving. It makes us uncertain of who we are and of our true value.
  • A great deal of energy goes into this process of fixing and editing ourselves.
  • We can remember our wholeness at any time.
  • What you need to do to survive may be very different from what you need to do to live.
  • Reclaiming ourselves usually means coming to recognize and accept that we have in us both sides of everything. We are capable of fear and courage, generosity and selfishness, vulnerability and strength. These things do not cancel each other out but offer us a full range of power and response to life.
  • One of the blessings of growing older is the discovery that many of the things I once believed to be my shortcomings have turned out in the long run to be my strengths, and other things of which I was unduly proud have revealed themselves in the end to be among my shortcomings.

Love, love, love Rachel and her wisdom!

 

One thought on “We can remember our wholeness at any time

  1. Pingback: Don’t forget the humanity | This Abundantly Delicious Life

Leave a Reply

