Coffee and tea

courtesy of kimbeckham.net

courtesy of kimbeckham.net

I enjoy my hazelnut coffee in the morning and my chai tea in the afternoon. However, I’ve never actually had them together. Well, until today that is! I guess I wasn’t paying attention in the shady early morning light as I reached for the spoon on the ceramic rest to stir the milk into my coffee.

I thought my coffee had a nutty spicy flavor and was surprised that the remnants of tea on the spoon would have such a powerful impact on my coffee. I knew the cinnamon essences were strong but really? It all made perfect sense when I finished my coffee and discovered yesterday’s chai tea bag sitting at the bottom of my mug!  My second cup tasted alot better!  🙂

4 thoughts on “Coffee and tea

  1. Hmm. Interesting accident! Sometimes I sprinkle cinnamon on top of the coffee grounds before I brew for a little something, but if you are not expecting it, it could be perceived as yucky. 🙂

    • I do the same thing with cinnamon when I don’t have hazelnut and want a little twist…that’s good. You’re right…it’s when you don’t expect it. I thought there might be a slight hint from the tea that stuck to the spoon but whoa it was overpowering – wondered where my hazelnut went to! Might be tasty to put one of the chai tea bags into the coffee grounds and brew with it for a whole pot – would be more subtle then…maybe I’m on to something! 🙂

Leave a Reply

