Scooter + Tucker = Sweet

Now if that's not the sweetest thing! (Tucker on left, Scooter on right)

Now if that’s not the sweetest thing! (Tucker on left, Scooter on right)

Love those puppy bellies. I bet this is an after-dinner nap!  (Scooter on left, Tucker on right)

Love those puppy bellies. I bet this is an after-dinner nap! (Scooter on left, Tucker on right)

What you are saying? We want to understand - it sounds like it might be about treats? (Scooter on left, Tucker on right)

What you are saying? We want to understand – it sounds like it might be about treats? (Scooter on left, Tucker on right)

Hanging out in the kitchen so they wouldn't miss a anything tasty!  (Scooter on left, Tucker on right)

Hanging out in the kitchen so they wouldn’t miss a anything tasty! (Scooter on left, Tucker on right)

I didn’t know Scooter and Tucker when these photos were taken. These sweet Springer Spaniel fellas were born in January 1985. I showed up on the scene in fall 1986. If it’s not obvious, Scooter and Tucker were brothers. Their mama was oh-my-god sweet Rue, who was the head pup in Jim’s cousin Melissa’s house.

Scooter caused his trouble in Birmingham, living with Jim’s mom. (That’s where all these photos were taken.) Tucker caused his trouble mostly in Athens, although we often went to B’ham to visit and those guys had a big time together. Oh, yes, they did like to pack together. I remember on my first visit to B’ham, I had been instructed several times to make sure I got the screen door to the kitchen closed tight. Well, guess what, one time I didn’t and those dogs knew it. They were out like a flash, running around the neighborhood, down to the creek. We got them back to the house, although not without my feeling pretty badly about the whole thing. One of my biggest worries as a pet owner was that my baby boy would get hit by a car on some unattended fleeing spree around the neighborhood.

The joy these sweet boys brought to us brings me joy today. Thank you Scooter and Tucker for your playful energy and unconditional love. You are missed. The memories you made live on forever.

4 thoughts on “Scooter + Tucker = Sweet

Leave a Reply

