Accepting the artist in me

If You Want to Write by Brenda UelandThe Icarus Deception by Seth Godin

Art? Oh, you must be talking about my brother, or someone else. I’m not creative. I’m not the artistic one. In the past, that’s what you would have heard me say if someone said “You are an artist.”

Now, I recognize that I am an artist. I am artistic and creative, every day. There, I said it. Taking it in. Breathing in my hunger to fly, feel, connect, trust, love, touch…to be alive and human.

A couple of books are supporting me in seeing this part of myself. I recently finished If You Want to Write by Brenda Ueland. I bought it because I’m interested in improving my creative writing. What I discovered is that the book is actually about something bigger – it’s about creativity.  There’s so much deliciousness in this book that I could fill pages with Brenda’s gems. A key idea that sticks is that “Everybody is talented, original and has something to say.” She encourages finding and speaking your personal truth, tapping into your your joy and passion, coming from a place of freedom and love.

And, just yesterday I received The Icarus Deception by Seth Godin from my wonderful friend Maureen Monte. First chapter in and I realize this tasty book is the scrumptious companion to Brenda’s book. Seth lures you in with “you are capable of making a difference, of being bold, and of changing more than you are willing to admit. You are capable of making art.” He posits that if you are human, you can make art, where art is “the truly human art of creating something new that matters to another person”. He talks about what’s needed in today’s society is the ability to create ideas that spread and connect the disconnected.

Cool!  Yes, I am an artist…at work and at play. Yeah.

3 thoughts on “Accepting the artist in me

  1. Love how your strategic sense is already at play my dear, validating the last two lines in your blog. You are immensely talented, you are creative, and you inspire all who know you, moi included! 🙂 QM

Leave a Reply

