Baking by Heart

First batch of pumpkin bread for the holidays!

First batch of pumpkin bread for the holidays!

This morning I found myself up a bit early so I got started on an annual tradition…baking loaves of pumpkin bread. There’s something special about this particular recipe and the act of making it. I made my first batch in partnership with my mom some 30 years ago and remember many fun years doing it together. It’s just something I do and I can almost do it by heart. I know for sure I make it with heart!  Thinking of you, Mom, and our special times together in the kitchen.

Mom’s Pumpkin Bread Recipe

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 2/3 cups sifted flour (I don’t sift)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup mashed pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Grease regular 9X5X3 loaf pan (or use nonstick and do not grease). [Note that you can bake ~ 3 smaller loaves as an alternative.]
  3. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
  4. In a large mixing bowl, cream shortening, sugar, and vanilla. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition. Stir in pumpkin.
  5. Stir 1/3 dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture, stir, add 1/3 water, stir, and repeat until water and dry ingredients are mixed in. Do not overbeat. Fold in nuts.
  6. Put batter into prepared pan. Bake fro 45-55 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Note: The photo shows a triple recipe.

2 thoughts on “Baking by Heart

  1. Pingback: Baking by Heart « Mostly My Heart Sings

  2. Pingback: This Abundantly Delicious Life

Leave a Reply

