The strongest oak

Courtesy of barewalls.com

Courtesy of barewalls.com

I spent the first hour of my Friday morning at The Hope Lodge, catching up with Kelly, the manager, and helping with some housecleaning. As I was sweeping the hall steps, I had a profound sense of peace, being of service, knowing that without breast cancer I would not be there, touched by the community and healing that energizes the place.  I am stronger because of my experience.

Synchronicity this morning…I found myself reading a post by one of my blog-o-sphere friends: Light the Way by Misifusa. She is an amazing example of the strongest oak.  “The strongest oak of the forest is not the one that is protected from the storm and hidden from the sun. It’s the one that stands in the open where it is compelled to struggle for its existence against the winds and rains and the scorching sun.  – Napoleon Hill, author.

I found that quote at the daily love right after reading Misifusa’s blog. I am grateful to understand what’s possible from pain and suffering, to know people who embrace soul energy, to have inner strength and a shining heart, and to be healthy and able to give to others.

A bonus – 2 more quotes from the daily love:

“You desire to know the art of living, my friend? It is contained in one phrase: make use of suffering.”  – Henri Frederic Amiel, was a Swiss philosopher, poet and critic.

“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.”  – Elizabeth Kubler-Ross, was a Swiss-born psychiatrist, a pioneer in Near-death studies and author.

 

5 thoughts on “The strongest oak

  1. Beautiful post. I was an oak but I became a willow, so I could bend. Years of chronic pain have taught me the lesson that Hill teaches in your post: It is the standing on one’s own, dispite the odds and the things that come at you, that keeps you strong and makes you stronger. Now I am the williow, I am strong but also understand that I must bend with the wind to survive. Your experience with Cancer has taught you much, and you are doing a great job with the learning. Happy Holidays – Lorian

Leave a Reply

