Furry Foto Friday

In honor of fellow blogger’s Furry Foto Friday, I thought I would share photos of my favorite furry friends.

Hup: He is the current resident furry friend (OK, so he has synthetic hair).  Hup was a gift from my husband Jim that he gave to me the night I stayed in the hospital after my mastectomy last year.  (See below for the story of our meeting – a poem from my book Mostly My Heart Sings.)

Tucker: My boy Tucker…well, I should say our boy Tucker.  Tucker was Jim’s pup when we met in grad school.  I remember the day we met at Jim’s house on Pulaski St in Athens GA on Halloween. He filled our days with fun and frolic, and love and tenderneess.  He is missed every day, and memories of our 14 1/2 years with him give us warm fuzzies…he will always be a part of us.

Domino: The first puppy our family ever had.  He was a ‘Guamanian Boonie Dog’ – that means a mutt on Guam, where we lived in 1973 when our friends gave the little ball of fur to us.  I thought Peanut would be a good name, but for some reason Mike got to name him so Domino it was. Now why would a boy call a tan dog with white paws Domino?  Because Mike knew a black dog with white spots named Domino a year or two before and he promised, “If I ever have a dog, I’m going to name him Domino.” In the end, it fit – Domino is a brand of sugar and our guy was indeed very sweet!

Hospital Hup makes Vicki happy...what else could make a girl smile like that in a hospital gown?!

Hospital Hup makes Vicki happy…what else could make a girl smile like that in a hospital gown?!

Halloween the year after we met - Jim, Vicki, Tucker  (and Pumpkinhead) on the stoop at Pulaski St

Halloween the year after we met – Jim, Vicki, Tucker (and Pumpkinhead) on the stoop at Pulaski St

Brother Mike and Domino in VA, 1987 (the ole pup was 14)

Brother Mike and Domino in VA, 1987 (the ole pup was 14)

Hospital Hup

By Vicki L. Flaherty

A boy wanders.
He is tired and weary from a long and stressful day.
He hears something calling.
He moves here and there in search of the caller.
Soon the call gets closer:
“Rescue me!” “Pick me!”
And, the boy does.
He pulls from the shelf the little white pup,
the one with the big grin and perky black ears,
hidden behind the bears and bunnies
who are also eager to befriend.
“Ah, this is the one!”
The boy grins with certainty.
He returns to his girl’s room,
a gift bag in his hand
to deliver the little dog.
A gift of love.
So many shared memories in this special symbol of joy.
She notices the pup is made to sit.
She blurts “Hup!” —
trying it out for her new friend’s name.
The girl and the dog spend the whole night together.
The pup cuddles up to her each time she awakes,
reminding her how much the boy loves her,
how the boy is with her in spirit,
how his body is resting at home
that he may be strong
for the care required
on the journey ahead.

© copyright Vicki L. Flaherty, 2012

5 thoughts on “Furry Foto Friday

  1. Pingback: Hup « Mostly My Heart Sings

Leave a Reply

