Community

Last night I had a very special evening. I spent it with a group of fellow breast cancer survivors, preparing a spaghetti dinner for the guests staying at the Hope Lodge in Iowa City. Hope Lodge is a home-away-from-home run by the American Cancer Society for cancer patients who come from distant places for treatments. Ours is run by an amazing woman Kelly Lamb. The meal was delicious, prepared by our loving hands, and so colorful with bread, several lovely salads, pasta and sauce, and a choice of desserts. As we were fixing the meal and cleaning up afterwards I had a powerful sense of community. It felt so alive there with my “bosom buddies” supporting other survivors and their caregivers. Guests and staff pitched in to help us find things and put things away. My heart was definitely singing as I drove home…and a voice in my head was saying ‘more of that!’

Leave a Reply

